Beach Blast recap from a 1st timer

I thought I’d give my thoughts about Beach Blast 2011 and some take-aways that I came home with. There were several reasons why I consider this year a success, but since this is my first beach blast, don’t just take my word for it ask some of our students.

1) I love how beach blast is set up to where we look at a theme and get to fully flesh that theme out over the course of a few days. Normally when we do a series for Crave, we go from Sunday to Sunday and have school, sports, work, and countless other things going on wanting the attention of our students. With beach blast, what they look at in Bible study fits into what they are presented in worship. So we have a bigger opportunity to speak truth to students.

2) I love the time that I got to spend with our adult leaders. I got the chance to really get to know the people who pour into our students and they got to learn more about me. Bart has mentioned in a previous post about how great our volunteers are, and they shined this trip as well. Another side of this was I got the chance to lead our adult chaperones through the Bible study material that the students were going through. This is a rare treat that we get to speak to adults only. I was excited to get to do this when Bart first told me about it, and I’m very happy to have been apart of the discussion with the adults. This will remain as one of my highlights.

3) I love the time that I got to spend with our students. Trips are a great way to build connections with students. There’s something in sharing experience that bring us together and beach blast was no exception. I enjoyed the time with our student leaders who lead Bible studies for Middle School. I enjoyed the free time with students and seeing them enjoy the pool, beach, volleyball court, and of course the Yum Yum Shop.
One great memory for me: On Wednesday after the middle school had left and the high school were on the way, I was with the our high school leaders, some adults, and our praise band members. We went to lunch and had a great time enjoying each other before starting all over again with high school beach blast. Later that day I was talking with one of the praise band members and he said “I feel like I got to see the real you today” I asked what he meant, and he said he got to see me in a smaller setting and was just able to learn more about me.
Trips are great not only for students to further relationships with each other, but we as leaders get to further relationships with students and see them grow deeper in their relationship with Christ.

I’m incredibly happy with beach blast this year!! God did some amazing things in the lives our students and I look forward to seeing the fruit. I can’t wait for next year!!

Thanks for all your prayers and support for Beach Blast. And again, I want to encourage you to talk with some our students about beach blast. See what take-aways they have and how God worked in their lives.

Leave a Reply

