Our Mission Field

With summer winding down and school swiftly approaching, we decided to blow the dust off the blog and get this bad boy fired up again. The post today is actually an activity we did for middle school Beach Blast but I think with school starting it deserves a second look.

It comes from the book of Nehemiah. Nehemiah felt a great burden and seized the opportunity that God had placed in front of him. As Christians, we should be burdened for those lost around us, people that we come in contact everyday. We need to seize the opportunity that God has given us.

With that in mind, we come to a way to approach going back to school.

Prayer Request 1
God, help me to see my school the way you see it.
“Three days after my arrival at Jerusalem, I slipped out during the night, taking a only a few others with me. I had not told anyone about the plans God had put into my heart for Jerusalem…I went out through the Valley Gate, past the Jackals Well, and over to the Dung Gate to inspect the broken walls and burned gates” (Neh. 2:11-13)

Prayer Request 2
God, give me opportunities to share my story with one of my non-Christian friends.
“Then I told them about how the gracious hand of God had been on me, and about my conversations with the king. They replied at once, ‘Good! Let’s rebuild the wall!’ So they began the good work” (Neh. 2:18)

____________________________________________________________
My Friend’s Name

Prayer Request 3
God, give me success in helping my friends become Christians and give me the approval of those in authority at my school.
“O Lord, please hear my prayer! Listen to the prayers of those of us who delight in honoring you. Please grant me success now as I go to ask the king for a great favor. Put into his heart to be kind to me” (Neh. 1:11)

____________________________________________________________
My School’s Name

Parents: we have the same charge but our mission field is our jobs and not our schools. As you head back to work after a summer of fun, how can you be intentional with your co-workers? I challenge you to complete this list and have your student complete it also. Then check in with each other to see the progress you’re making.

This is may prayer for you as you head back to work or school:
Psalm 143:8, 10: Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning, for I am trusting you. Show me where to walk, for I give myself to you. 
Teach me to do your will, for you are my God. May your gracious Spirit lead me forward on a firm footing.

Leave a Reply

