Imitators of Who?

mhn

I recently came across these verses and they spoke to me as a dad and serve as a great reminder that my kids are watching me.

1 Corinthians 4:14-17 says: I am writing this not to shame you but to warn you as my dear children. Even if you had ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel. Therefore I urge you to imitate me. For this reason I have sent to you Timothy, my son whom I love, who is faithful in the Lord. He will remind you of my way of life in Christ Jesus, which agrees with what I teach everywhere in every church.

I can remember being 10 years old and wanting to be just like my dad. Even down to the way he walked and his mannerisms. In my mind, everyone should have wanted to be like my dad. Even know I’m trying to put my reasons why into words and I can’t.

That is the heart of what Paul is talking about here. There are many people in our lives that help point us to Jesus, but there is one person that stands out above the rest. That is the spiritual father he is talking about.

Like our earthy fathers that we try and be like when we are young, we should try and imitate our spiritual fathers and their faith.

Despite what you might think, parents are the greatest examples to their kids. They see the things that you care about and they being to care about them, they see what important to you as a parent and it becomes important to them. In a sense they imitate you.

So, with that in mind, what you showing them about Christ? 

Are you showing your students a deep devotion to make sure your relationship with Christ is growing?
Do you put more emphasis on things like sports and school than you do the spiritual life of your student?
What are most of your conversations about? Do you ever mention or ask how Christ is working in you and their life?
Do you students know what it means to be a Christ follower based on what your life outside of church?

These are all important things to consider even for me. My children are watching me to see who Christ is as much as your are. So, what about Christ am I showing them?

Ask yourself this question and pray they God will give you strength and guidance and then go model Him to your children.

Leave a Reply

