Promise Maker Promise Keeper-Merge Recap 2/16

PMPK

Series: Promise Maker, Promise Keeper (week 1 of 4)
Message in two sentences: Our God is a promise maker and a promise keeper. He is faithful and trustworthy and will do all He says He will do.
Scriptures Used: Proverbs 3:5-6,  1 Corinthians 10:13, 2 Thessalonians 3:3, Philippians 1:6, Psalm 37:4,

I’m so excited to be doing this series. Like many of the series we have done at Merge this semester, I have had this one on my mind since last February from the song The Lord our God.

I think it’s going to be great for our students and myself as we take an extended look at some of the promises of God and what they mean to us. I’m also excited for some ways we are going to communicate these promises to students that are out of the ordinary.

To start the series we looked at 2 simple truths
1) Our God is a promise maker
2) Our God is a promise Keeper

We looked at Proverbs 3 and the promise that if we trust in God he will make our paths straight or show which paths to take.

In 1 Corinthians 10:13 we looked at the fact that God is faithful. That he is reliable, true to his word, that he will not leave us but provide for us. 2 Thessalonians 3 tells us the same thing.

The biggest takeaway for me was that a promise doesn’t have to be a direct promise from God to be a promise. There is a promise in the fact that God will never leave us or forsake us. There is a promise communicated in his love for us. Psalm 37:4 isn’t a direct promise from God, but it contains a promise: If I take delight in the Lord, He will give me the desires of my heart. Meaning when I follow Him, His desires start to become my desires.

Our theme verse comes from 2 Corinthians 1:20 and says For all of the promises of God find their yes in Christ.

One of the important things we looked at is that God’s promises are for Christ followers only. If his promises find their yes or fulfillment in Christ, without Christ and a relationship with him, how can we celebrate the promises? 

To end I want to leave you with a few lines from a great hymn:

Standing on the promises I cannot fall
Listening every moment to the Spirit’s call
Resting in my Savior as my all in all
Standing on the promises of God

And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world’s corruption caused by human desires. 2 Peter 1:4

Leave a Reply

