Parents, Don’t Give Up!

My wife and I had a great idea. Let’s sit down once a week for a family devotion, read a bible story to our kids, and pray as a family. I asked everyone to join me in my daughter’s room and I opened up the Jesus Storybook Bible (our favorite) and began reading. Fast-forward two minutes and I am angrily telling my son to go to his room because he can’t be quiet, my daughter has jumped off the bed and hurt her self for the 10th time that day, and my wife has that look on her face that says, “This was a disaster.” I honestly felt like giving up, but I knew it was just the beginning of the process.

All of that to say, parenting is hard. Parenting and trying to raise your kids to love Jesus–even more difficult. Being a parent is one of the messiest, most challenging, beautiful, rewarding, stressful, and thankless jobs in the world. Multiply that by 20 if you are the parent of a teenager.

Don’t give up. Just like God is relentlessly pursuing your heart, don’t give up pursuing the heart of your child. Keep challenging them to follow what God has called them to do. Don’t give up modeling the kind of love for Christ you want to see develop in them. Pray for them daily.

You will not get everything right. You will make mistakes. However, you will also teach your teen some incredible lessons about Jesus in the process–especially as you admit your weakness and your own dependency upon Jesus’ grace.

RHBC parents, know you are loved by our Student Ministry Team and we want to partner with you in this process! Look for more blog posts and video blogs coming soon!

Leave a Reply

